Aug 06, 2019 7:30 PM
Michael Sanborn

Mr. Sanborn is the curator at The Banning Museum, located in the heart of Wilmington.

The Banning Museum was built in 1864 by Phineas Banning—entrepreneur, founder of the city of Wilmington, and “the Father of the Port of Los Angeles". Subsequent generations lived in it until 1925; in 1927 the residence, stagecoach barn, and the surrounding 20 acres of parkland were acquired by the City of Los Angeles.

The residence fell into disrepair over the decades, but an intrepid group, the Friends of Banning Park (now called the Friends of the Banning Museum) spearheaded by Phineas’s great-granddaughter, Nancy Banning Call, restored the mansion to its original Victorian beauty.

The Banning Museum engages visitors in a living history experience, showing how the family lived, worked, and entertained. Through its educational programs, it gives third, fourth and fifth-graders opportunities to experience life in the 19th century, enriching their curriculum.